The Pentateuch

Pentateuch means the first five books of the Bible. These books are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. The word Pentateuch comes from two Greek words that mean “five books” or “five scroll” According to tradition, the books were written by the Israelite leader, Moses.

What Is the Content of the Pentateuch?

The content of the Pentateuch is our Jewish background and also the beginning of our Christian story. Today, when families get together for a holiday, often they sit around the table or around the fire and they tell—and retell—their story. This is particularly the case when a new member of the family—a new husband or wife, for example—is brought into the family for the first time. The new member needs to hear and to absorb the family’s story, going back through generations.

This is who we ARE. And for our story to be true, our story must contain the raw as well as the sweet.

Click here to read full article